Hosted by Robert Morris University

Prizes provided by Robert Morris University and Adobe®

Prizes awarded in each category:

  • ⊕ 1st Place: $1,000 Cash
  • ⊕ 2nd Place: 1-year subscription to Adobe® Creative Cloud
  • ⊕ 3rd Place: Adobe® backpack


Why Enter?

Fame & Fortune, of course!

$1,000 CASH Prizes!

Subscriptions to Adobe® Creative Cloud and Adobe® backpacks!

See your work on the BIG screen at the Gene Siskel Film Center in Chicago!

Share your story and be heard!

Ready to go? Click me to enter!

2015 Chicago Shorts Festival Awards

The following thumbnails represent the winners within their respective categories.

For 2015 we received over 120 entries from all over the world. The screening process was intense and ultimately the selections were made for final judging. Judging was done based on creative concept, execution and overall quality.

We'd love to see your work shown here for the 2016 winners list. Do you have what it takes?

Comedy: 1st Place for
Il Segreto della Pasta
Baz Eipert
Georg-Simon-Ohm Hochschule

Documentary: 1st Place for
Number 32
Linnea Langkammer
Temple University

Drama: 1st Place for
Adam Suzin
Polish National Film and Television School

Experimental: 1st Place for
Made Only of African
Terrian Williams
Robert Morris University

Animation: 2nd Place for
Rosso Papvero
Martin Smatana
Universidad de Buenos Aires

Comedy: 2nd Place for
Alvaro Martin
University of Cordoba

Documentary: 2nd Place for
Maria Clara Dantas
Columbia College

Drama: 2nd Place for
First Lesson in Love
Tomer Werechson
Tel Aviv University

Experimental: 2nd Place for
The Hard-Boiled Omnibus
Izik Alequin
Columbia College

Documentary: 3rd Place for
Henry Leatham
Columbia College

Drama: 3rd Place for
Tyler Smith
DePaul University

Experimental: 3rd Place for
Steven Allred
Columbia College

Drama Honorable Mention for
It Hit Upon the Roof
Teymour Ghaderi
Payame Noor University

Drama Honorable Mention for
Night Shift
Adam Suzin
Polish National Film and Television School

Drama Honorable Mention/People's Choice
for Intervention
Jordan Blazak
DePaul University

Ready to Enter?

Fantastic! Please read our rules below.

Prior to entering, please make sure your video is in HD quality, saved as .MOV, MP4, .WMV or .AVI in format.
Remember, it may be shown on the big screen so quality is key!

Once your film is ready, hit the button below to fill start the entry process.


Deadline to enter is March 15, 2016


  • Documentary
  • Dramatic Narrative
  • Comedy/parody
  • Animation
  • Experimental


  • All submitted work will be pre-screened for quality and verified that it meets the rules and guidelines
  • A panel of jurors comprising of filmmaking professionals will judge the work for the screening session and awards
  • The top scoring entries will be shown in a screening session, free and open to the public, at the Gene Siskel Film Center on April 27, 2016
  • Students whose work is selected to be shown will be notified in advance and recognized at the screening
  • An awards presentation will take place in the State Street Gallery and videotaped for streaming


  • The top scoring film in each category will be awarded with a $1,000 cash prize
  • Second place in each category will be awarded a one-year subscription to Adobe® Creative Cloud
  • Third place in each category will be awarded an Adobe® backpack
  • Jurors reserve the right to not award a winner in a particular category based on poor quality and/or low or no entries


  • Students must be enrolled in a college/university and in good standing
  • Maximum length of each film is 10 minutes from opening to credits
  • Hi quality files must be submitted
  • Files must be saved as a .MOV, .MP4, .WMV or .AVI file
  • Films must contain original content
  • Films must not infringe copyright laws
  • Films must not have excessive or unnecessary nudity, profanity or contain offensive content
  • Any actors/models must have given consent via release to the filmmaker
  • Work may only be submitted once, by one person, in one category
  • All work will be submitted through a link on the website
  • Entry is free
  • Previous entries will not be accepted


By submitting work to the Festival, students agree:
  • that all images and audio are legally owned or used by the student, the student has permission to use such content and is not in violation of any copyright laws
  • the work is original
  • any actors/actresses have given consent to the work
  • to allow the use of the work in whole or part, for promotional purposes of the Festival
  • to allow the work to be screened publicly and as part of the Festival
  • to submit proof of enrollment in a college/university in a timely manner, once notified of selection for the screening and awards events
  • to being photographed and/or videotaped, and allow the use of their name for promotional and award purposes of the Festival, unless Festival organizers are notified in writing that this is not permissible by the student. Notification should be sent by certified mail to Shelley LaMantia at Robert Morris University, 401 South State Street, Chicago, IL 60605.
  • that all judges’ decisions are final and can not be contested
  • that awards given are final and non-negotiable. Any taxes or division of awards among collaborators is the sole responsibility of the student who submits the work.
  • Jurors reserve the right to not award a winner in a particular category based on poor quality and/or low or no entries

Ready to Enter?




Chicago Shorts Festival
c/o Robert Morris University
State Street Gallery
401 S. State Street
Chicago, IL 60605
Email us via the form at the left.

Contact Us